PDA

View Full Version : What To Do When Members Die

admin
01-01-2010, 02:29 PM
I run a music forum and we had a longtime member die right before Christmas. It's the 2nd member that has died on that site. It just feels so empty. Many of the members of that community knew them well from the forum, but also met them in person too playing music.

It's a delicate situation and I'm not sure what to do, but to do nothing just feels so wrong. I've been running many of my forums for 10 years now so it's an issue that needs to be addressed.

My only initial idea is to have a place with a thread for each member that will be open for other members to post. In a weird way it perpetuates the person for us in virtual way. I don't know if that's sick or not - but it makes sense to me when it comes to online forum communities.

Feedback appreciated.

Saysusie
01-01-2010, 02:35 PM
Conrad;
It is, in no way, sick!! When grieving, we are told that one of the most important things that we SHOULD do is to talk about the one that we've lost; to keep that person alive in our minds and in our hearts!
Periodically, at family gatherings, I will ask family members to write their fondest/funniest memories of Lauri so that we can share them with each other. This is always such a healing and loving time for all of us because we, too often, feel that we should not speak about or of the loved one who has passed on.
It is healthy and even an homage to talk about the person, especially if his presence affected you in any way.
If anyone objects to you providing this place for homage, tell them to take a hike!!
Know that I understand your pain and your feeling of loss and I think that what you are attempting to do is beautiful and thoughtful!

Always
Carlotta

BonusMom
01-01-2010, 04:18 PM
Conrad;
It is, in no way, sick!! When grieving, we are told that one of the most important things that we SHOULD do is to talk about the one that we've lost; to keep that person alive in our minds and in our hearts!