PDA

View Full Version : Previously dx'd lupus, now tests are negative but still pain

pwincess
08-24-2005, 06:14 PM
I am new to this, my first post. I was diagnosed 1 year ago with SLE and Mixed Connective Tissue disorder by 2 different doctors, took Methotrexate and Prednisone. Didn't think Methotrexate was helping after 3 months, and didn't want to stay on Prednisone because of all the side effects down the line, so got off. Possibly went into remission. But later, started hurting again, but tests came back negative this time. Problem: constant pain all over every day. Is it possible for my tests to be negative but I really be in a flare up? I'm so confused, extremely fatigued, in continuous pain. MD gave me Rx for Vicodin for 1 year now, and it is the only thing that helps me get through the day. However, now that I've taken it so long, I have become tolerant and need more. MD won't give more than 3 tabs/day because of the Tylenol hurting my liver. This doesn't even touch my pain, it's like eating M&Ms! At this point, I feel like saying "well the lupus could cause me liver damage too, the Plaquenil could cause blindness, the Methotrexate and Prednisone many other horrible conditions! I already take enough NSAIDS to cause stomach ulcers! What difference does it make if I get addicted as long as I have quality of life and I'm not bothering anyone else!? This sounds horrible, but at this point I don't care. I cannot go to work and do everything I have to do if I'm in constant pain. I would have no life whatsoever! I wouldn't want to live anymore. Can anyone relate? Any suggestions? :(

Saysusie
08-25-2005, 11:02 AM
Hi Pwincess;
Lupus is a chronic illness and, unfortunately,lupus is different for each individual. It often appears in cycles, which can consist of:
*a 'flare', with severe acute symptoms needing medical attention;
*a 'chronic' phase, when symptoms may continue but are less severe;