PDA

View Full Version : Lupus Walk!!!!!!

brandichi
09-27-2009, 04:49 AM
Yesterday I did the Lupus Alliance walk, and it was even better than I expected!!!!! I have never done any kind of charity walk before, and my biggest fear was not being able to finish it. It was only two miles, but there are times I can't even walk a half mile. But I did it!!! I did it!! I did it!!!! :)

The weather was PERFECT for me, and the rest of us lupies. Cool, cloudy, a bit misty, which was perfect by the water. A friend of mine came to walk with me, and that was really special because we used to be very close friends until I was diagnosed, then when she wasn't there for me at all, I pretty much stayed away from her. I think now she was trying to make up for it, but whatever her motivation, we had a great time talking together as we walked, and I think we're on the way to reparing our friendship. My mom went too, and I was so glad. She didn't walk, but she was there to support me.

There were about 175 walkers, and together I think we raised about $40,000!! I ended up raising $300, but I know I'll raise more when I start much earlier next year.