PDA

View Full Version : Diagnosis?

widebody
06-29-2009, 12:07 PM
Hi all,

Newbie here -- just diagnosed (maybe - more to follow) last week. This came after a long period battling intense fatigue, sore joints, and a brief fever...PCP ran a battery of tests and found positive for DS DNA (13), positive for ANA, and negative for rheumatoid factor. In addition, my platelets and white blood cells were low.

So, she told me 'it looks like lupus, but you need to see a rheumatologist for sure.' Luckily, I'm in one of the best areas in the world for health care, so I'm going to Duke rheumatology - but not for another month.

I'm male, 44, and also a type 1.5 diabetic with some other endocrine gland involvement. It's an unusual type of diabetes; over time, most or all of the endocrine glands are attacked by the immune system and shut down.

Which makes me wonder if this lupus 'diagnosis' is very solid or not...my research has not given me a clear answer on how specific the DSDNA test is for lupus.

I suppose, in a sense, it's not that big a deal - the rheumatologist can fill me in in a few weeks, but for me, ignorance is NOT bliss. I'd like to know if this is definitely lupus or could be something else. Anyone here have any thoughts?

Also, does the fatigue ever go away? I mean, is it a 'flare' symptom, or is it just part of the package? Cuz I gotta tell ya, it sucks :) I sleep 10-11 hours/day now (vs. 6 just a few weeks ago) and am more tired than ever.

Other than that, no problematic symptoms - the joint pain goes away with ibuprofen, and though I've been careful, I don't seem to have sun issues.

Any advice/thoughts appreciated, thanks.

Oh, and for any other men - yeah, it sucks getting what people think of as a 'women's disease' but I don't let it bother me...I figure we're 'the few, the proud, the 'Lupes'. So I've started referring to both the disease and myself in the third person as Lupe (pronounced the spanish way - loo-pay). Makes it kinda fun.