PDA

View Full Version : Pain when swallowing?

Numpty
06-28-2009, 12:19 PM
Hey guys

Just a quick question. Am down south on holiday just now and the weather is really hot and really muggy and sticky here which obviously isnt great for me. But since arriving here I've developed a bit of a new issue which is pain on swallowing.

It doesn't matter if its food or juice.. whenever I swallow it really hurts. Its just beneath my chest and mostly frontal in my rib area but its as though when my food etc hits that point in my esophagus it really hurts and nothing seems to ease it!

Anyone else get this?

Claire
x

Angel Oliver
06-28-2009, 01:16 PM
Hi well not to that degree,but funnily enough today mainly ive had difficulty swallowingseems to just stop in the back of my throat n no matter how hard i try it wont go down...then i panic lol.
If i were you,get it checked at the doctor.I have no pain,maybe an infection,im no doctor so could be something totally different.
Yes its muggy here too.Let me know how you get on,but get it checked.They may be able to help you.

lots of love
Amanda.xxxxxx

Oluwa
06-28-2009, 03:41 PM
Hi Numpty....I do, I do...

Gerdie..aka GERD... Gastric Esophageal Reflux Disease?

I have Gerdie...

Maybe the weather is coincidental. Eating different foods? Try OTC Prilosec...not Tums or Pepto.

My Gerdie....It gives me pain under my breast bone and times it radiates through my whole chest and upper back. Gerdie doesn't always burn...mine rarely does...just sharp pain. Is your food getting stuck? That is how I was diagnosed in the ER....at first I, they..the doctors thought I was having a heart attack.

I've had my esophagus dilated to let the food flow and drop into the hopper. I think I am due for another stretching....funny, softer food are the worst at getting stuck...