PDA

View Full Version : Doctor's appt. bust

shepherdgirl
06-19-2009, 09:51 AM
I was supposed to go in for a doctor's appt today b/c of the collection of symptoms I'd been having the past two weeks. The new rheum. that I saw last time only accepts cash and checks. I had one check in my wallet, it was missing the check number in the upper right hand corner (when I tore it from the check book, the number must have torn off, I didn't notice at the time).
I wrote the check, thinking that they'd still take it b/c the check number is still on the check, in the code at the bottom (I worked as a receptionist for a vet for 3 years-this was never a problem). The last time I was in there, they said they'd bill me if I forgot since I don't carry cash or checks with me, they do this with other patients. We normally pay with a Flex card.
I get in there and the office manager said that she would not accept the check and I'd have to go get cash at the hospital across the street before I see the dr. I refused, seeing as it would cost me money to get money from that atm. Plus, getting to the ER at the hospital is a nightmare. Even after talking to her for a bit, she refused to take the check. I canceled my appt for today and for my blood work on July 1st.
Now I'm left wondering what to do. I had one rheum. tell me I have Lupus, one tell me he doesn't know what I have, maybe Lupus, fibro, anxiety, or "preoccupied with bodily functions" (whatever that means).
What do I do?
We caught this by accident, I went to my pcp for a sinus infection and my dh had the dr. check these strange symptoms. The dr. ended up doing tons of bloodwork that caught the positive ANA. My dh, btw is frustrated beyond belief.
What happens if I don't treat this and it ends up being Lupus? Is there anything else this could be?
I'm really, really, REALLY done with doctors.
Thanks for any advice. Any directions to a magic pill to make it all go away would be nice, too. :yes:

Angel Oliver
06-19-2009, 10:34 AM