PDA

View Full Version : terrible flare

Sandra
05-24-2009, 06:59 AM
Hello everyone I am new to all this, I am not new to symptoms but i never knew what it was before, now since I have been reading your posts I am well aware.
I started into a flare a few weeks ago, I had no idea that this is how a real flare starts, the puffy eyes, aching hands and brain fog....today I am a mess I hurt so bad everywhere, I can hardly move, my kidney's hurt and I'm having a terrible time with my lungs and throat.
So from what I gather I am supposed to go to my dr to stop the flare?
These symptoms have been happening off and on this way for years, but in the last two years the flares as i called them are much more significant and can last for months.
But my family practitioner was an irresponsible and abusive man who has a practice I am sure just to pay for further schooling, his new home and the perks (thousands of dollars) to join our healthcare. You see here there just are not nearly enough drs and we get care at the local ER where we go an wait with all the other people without dr'sfor 6 to 8 hours at a time just to se a ER dr.
I left my family practitioner and signed up with a nurse practitioner but she can't really do much. So what do I do? What if I just keep living through the flares and waiting them out?
I take medication but nothing for lupus. Prednisone in 7.5 mg dose for Addison's disease, a replacement dose for adrenal failure. I hate double dosing prednisone but it does work for this if I double, but I am only supposed to double in case of acute illness for the addison;s disease for a short time, and then the lupus falre comes right back anyway.
Trying to get into my rheumy right away who is 2 hours away is impossible, my next app is the end of June.
Boy getting the care I need for this is harder on me that just staying in bed and riding the flare out. Sandra

debbie-b
05-24-2009, 08:20 AM
Hi Sandra,