PDA

View Full Version : A little nervous

froggal
04-05-2009, 05:44 AM
I am new to almost all aspects of lupus . . . including the site. I am pretty nervous and a bit in denial of my diagnosis. I was recently diagnosed with SLE and dont really have a lot of support from my boyfriend. I thought this might help:unsure:

rob
04-05-2009, 06:11 AM
Hi froggal,

I'm Rob, and I was diagnosed with Systemic Lupus five years ago. The fact that you are experiencing some denial means one thing-you are normal. Denial is a very common, natural reaction that we all experience. For me, time, and knowledge of the disease has helped me to accept it, but I sometimes still catch myself pretending that I'm not sick, that it was all just a bad dream. Most days though, the denial is far behind me.

Even the most caring, and understanding people in our lives cannot grasp what it's like to live with Lupus. Some try to understand, some don't. For me, the only people who really understand, are others with Lupus. I live in a remote area, and there are no support groups here, so I turned to this site about a year ago. I honestly don't know how I got by without it. The friends I've made here, and the support I recieve from them have really helped me to cope with it all.

You'll find lots of support, understanding, some humor, and some great people here. Welcome to our group, and please make yourself at home.

Rob

sick n tired
04-05-2009, 07:08 AM
Hey Froggal,

Welcome to this forum... this is the perfect place for you to come for support. Perhaps your boyfriend just doesn't understand. Many times that can even be because you look well even though you are feeling awful or in pain. There is a site called butyoudontlooksick.com. The one think that I like about that site is it's name...I have heard that statement so many times and it is like they are not believing I feel awful...