PDA

View Full Version : How to get off Prednisone?

ssingh
03-28-2009, 05:07 PM
I have been on 7.5mg of prednisone for last 12 years and cannot go below that. I take 1500mg of cellcept and 400mg plaqunil. As soon I go down on prednisone I start to feel bad means lupus start to show more signs like tender joints, fatigue and red face. any Ideas?????????

Angel Oliver
03-28-2009, 05:12 PM
Hi,

I think there must be a way.Maybe have a chat with your Doctor and tell him what you just told us. I know the meds are important, but there must be a way to decrease this drug and another drug to help with fatigue and pain, like for example Lyrica.Im not a Doctor so am not sure.But there are ways around everything.Oh except a massive lottery win.
Just wait for other people to post maybe they have a solution. If not have a chat with your Doctor.
love
Angel.xxx

ssingh
03-28-2009, 07:39 PM
thanks, I don't think you can compensate prednisone with lyrica. I been on lyrica too.

Rastagirl
03-28-2009, 10:48 PM
Hello Singh...

I've been on Prednisone for 27 years and have been on a very, very slow taper to try to get off of it. The only way I've been succesful is to be in remission for a number of years. My doc has been tapering me about 1 mg. every 6 months to a year, to allow my adrenal glands to begin producing their own cortisone.