PDA

View Full Version : Why is it so "in your head"

cherokee993
02-03-2009, 07:44 AM
As I read through a lot of the posts here I realize that we share a common problem, that doctors often think its "all in our heads". Or for me its "because I'm diabetic and because I'm overweight". I swear sometimes if I stubbed my toe the doc would tell me its b/c I'm diabetic. LOL I'm joking but I'm somewhat serious in that issue!

Is it b/c lupus and RA are so designer and random in their presentation? Is it b/c doctors just don't know, what do you think? I feel like I'm buttered up and rolling around in a bowl of spices to see what sticks, kwim?

I have a fear of being seen as a hypochondriac. B/c I am a nurse and I work in the hospital and you know the old theory of if you work in healthcare you will eventually take on the symptoms (or think you do) of other peopple. Well my patients are new moms and babies so I don't think I'm going to take on their symptoms LOL ROFL.

Also medication wise, I take pain meds for this pain. Obviously there are limits to when I can take them b/c I do work full time. But why do I feel like people are judging me when I go to the pharmacy to pick up my meds? Why does vicodin (or any other pain med but thats waht I'm on) have such a negative connotation. I just want to scream to people, HELLO I'm really in PAIN and I'm NOT a Druggie!!!!!!!!!!

Anyone else feel that way?

iseedeadmonkeys
02-03-2009, 07:53 AM
Yeah

i get that feeling all the time too, i used to work in a medical health care (private school for epilepsy) and i thought wow did i have these too? i have seizures but they are not that of the epileptic type,
So i have this friend who doesnt even think of things like this will ppl assume im a hypercondriact (sp?)