PDA

View Full Version : Some holistic type methods?

cherokee993
01-31-2009, 09:16 AM
Does anyone have anything they use holistic like to help treat their symptoms?

I know I will need meds, right now I'm on vicodin and I am off Plaq. b/c of hive reaction, and we are contemplating Imuran or Methotrexeate. In the meantime I am hurting bad today - even with having just taken my pain meds, thats unusual b/c usually they make me feel better for a bit.

I'm going to get a massage today (a student massage but a massage none the less LOL) and hopefully that will help as I am going to ask them to work on my hands the most.

But I really need to find some other things too. The bulk of my pain is in my hands. I am a mother/baby nurse full time and a full time student (going to school online for my MSN) sooooo I use my hands a lot. I also have a three year old that loves to cuddle and he is 54 pounds so I use my hands a lot. They are aching right now so I apologize if I have a lot of typos.

I was thinking of trying to buy some hot rock massage kits for home use to help with my hands. Any other suggestions?

Also for fatigue? Any advice? I know I need to exercise, but right now its all I can do to get myself to work my 3 twelve plus hour shifts a week, where I am running all day long. So hopefully soon I will incorporate even just walking recreationally in my life, but in the meantime are there any other tips for energy?

I do take vitamins - I had gastric bypass 4 years ago so I take prenatals every day (and I remember most of the time LOL) and I take b supplements when I remember, tryign to do that daily now too. I also am supposed to be taking calcium and D b/c I'm very low on D so I will be doing that as soon as my rx is filled. (hopefully today).

Just looking for ideas, to help until the meds are started (whicever we decide to start).

hatlady
01-31-2009, 12:44 PM
Hi Cherokee;

Whatever holistic track you take, be sure your doc/rheumy is aware of it and gives you an OK.