PDA

View Full Version : So Slow To Heal!

Jesse
01-17-2009, 11:29 AM
Since my dx I've been on Plaquenil, folic acid and MTX but now the Imuran has replaced the MTX and folic acid. Both meds have given me nasty acne. Now, I've dealt with acne all my adult life but this is different and leaves pitted scars from even the small bumps. What's even more annoying is now the blemishes take FOREVER to heal. I have pink marks on my face from blemishes 6 months ago. Is this from the lupus/Sjogren's or the meds? I suspect it's the meds but I'm still relatively new at this whole thing so I'm hoping one of you veterans can clue me in. Thanks!

iseedeadmonkeys
01-17-2009, 11:45 AM
hiya what is imuran? and how does it help with changing from that from mtx and folic acid? is it another form of chemotherapy?

Jesse
01-17-2009, 02:14 PM
It's a medication to suppress the immune system. It acts in a similar fashion to MTX but is not really the same. No folic acid is needed. It's the same drug that's given (in higher doses I assume) to organ transplant patients so they don't reject the new organ. I switched to Imuran from MTX because the MTX was making a mess of my skin and I was hoping the Imuran would be more forgiving. It's not. My face is still a mess. But it's working quite well to subdue my symptoms. Now if I could just figure out what's causing my skin to scar so easily from blemishes now and why it takes so long to heal.

iseedeadmonkeys
01-17-2009, 02:39 PM
Yeah thats interesting cause im having probs with my skin too, since taking it, ive got this strange mark on my face that is growing bigger by the month and starting to raise now, i dont wanna ask to change from the mtx as its good for my body and the flare atm :D what dose were you on b4 you changed over to tht imuran may i ask? x

Jesse
01-17-2009, 02:44 PM