PDA

View Full Version : New one here

bntshep
10-20-2008, 08:53 AM
Hello, I am new to this and have had lupus now for 4 yrs. I was in denial for a long time and come to realize this is it. So I have accepted the fact that I am not lazy, or insane, I have a disease. My family has been there, but they dont help out when I am in a flare. Its like they are too. I get no help with housework or grocery shopping. It is soo depressing that I used to be this outgoing, energetic person who now has no clue as to why I hurt, depressed and just has no energy. I need someone to talk to that understands what I am going through. Please someone help me get through this. :cry:

KathyW1958
10-20-2008, 09:41 AM
Hi Bntshep,
My name is Kathy. I have SLE Lupus and have had it for years. It is a hard illness to deal with at times. I hear where you are coming from about others not helping out a lot. I think a lot of times they just don't understand how bad we feel as they do not have this illness. This is a really hard illness to deal with. I understand about what it is like to be outgoing and energetic and then all of a sudden that is gone. It is upsetting big time. As time goes on you will figure out what you can and can not do. As far as the housework and grocery shopping, I finally had to tell my husband and kids that either they could help out or it would not get done. They got the message quickly and they all started helping out more. Sometimes you have to speak right up and be rude about it to get the message across. There are a lot of good folks that comes in here and they may have some better information that can help you out. I hope that you keep posting as we all care and we do definitely understand how you feel big time.

Hugs,
Kathy

Oluwa
10-20-2008, 10:06 AM
Hi Bntshep...

Welcoming you with a tight hug.

I am happy you realize it is Lupus and that you are not lazy...a label we fight so hard against. We even fight with ourselves over it..