PDA

View Full Version : One month into Plaquenil - follow up

cherokee993
10-01-2008, 07:23 PM
Of course I'm not feeling any relief but I didn't expect it :) My Rheumy and I discussed that it may take up to six months to notice a difference but at least I'm not having the stomach upset that I was having the first week or so of taking it.

My joint pain has gotten progressively worse and it is really affecting me at work, I am doing my job but it is hard! I am a nurse and its really something I'm struggling with. If I had known this would be a medical issue for me I proably would have reconsidered becoming a nurse. :( On the days I work I'm worked to the ground, all of us are unfortunately. Then on my days off I just try to recover but the pain is getting so uncomfortable. I don't take steroids b/c of my diabetes and I dn't take many nsaids b/c they can irritate my stomach pretty bad. I tried darvocet, no help, and vicdin which does help but temporarily. I am SOOOOOOOOO ready to see if the plaq. will work! :):)

Anyway we discussed how things were going and she was really upbeat about it. I LOVE my rheumy. I wish I could be done with this and I only pray that it doesn't get worse. I'm 32 this month and I need to feel 32 LOL! Plus I want to do activity with my almost 3 year old without hurting so bad!

No real point to this post, just wanted to share!

hatlady
10-02-2008, 09:14 AM
Happy birthday a bit late, cherokee!

I'm so glad you have a rheumy who listens and discusses with you, that means so much.

On the hopeful side - I think it only took about three months for plaquenil to kick in for me - so you may get lucky. It did make a huge difference in my case.

There are so many things you can do as a registered nurse that are less physical. Maybe at some future date you'll want to explore some of them. You have a degree and experience that are VERY valuable in today's world.