PDA

View Full Version : Hi.. =)

Megz
08-23-2008, 07:39 AM
I'm new to this whole forums thing, never really posted on one before. I'm 19 yrs old, and I was diagnosed with lupus and fibromyalgia finally after 5 yrs. My main doctor thinks I should talk to someone about it, but it's hard for me to talk to people in person, because I can see the pain in their eyes and they don't completely understand. My friend was browsing and found this website, so I thought I would try it out. :) I'm not good at talking about it, at all.. So I'll probably just be here to see what others have to say.

I do have a question though. I'm curious how some of you told your loved ones (or even people you just meet) about the situation, so they could understand what you're going through. I've had family members say that I don't "act" like I'm sick, just because I don't go around telling everyone and show how I'm feeling. The people who I thought were my friends, seem to be getting angry with me because I can't run around like normal "kids" my age. It's really frustrating and I guess saying "I'm in pain a lot, and tired all the time" just doesn't cut it.

rob
08-23-2008, 11:18 AM
Hi Megz,

First of all, welcome! I'm a 40 y.o. guy who was diagnosed with SLE in 2004. There is another excellent Lupus website called But you Don't Look Sick dot com. At that site, there is something called "The Spoon Theory", and it's all about helping others understand your illness. I didn't know of the spoon theory back when I was first diagnosed, but I wish I had. I'd recommend you read it when you get a chance, it can help.