PDA

View Full Version : Aussie OT Student Asking for Help

OTStudent
08-22-2008, 09:00 PM
Hi everyone,

I really hope you dont mind me joining your forum. I am an Occupational Therapy Student from Western Australia and am currently doing a research topic on Lupus. Until i began my research i knew nothing about the existance of Lupus and i know that most people in my course still dont so i am hoping to at least raise a bit of awareness through my assignment presentation. After reading about the experiences that you are all going through i am very moved by your strength and determination and am so glad to see that sites like this exist to provide support.

As an occupational therapist i am hoping to provide my clients with the highest level of support and empowerment possible and am now asking for your assistance to do this. If i was to run a self-management program for people newly diagnosed with Lupus, what topics do you think it would be important to discuss? It is one thing to read in text books about symptoms and how they affect people but it is often a very different experience to find out the real difficulties from someone that is living the journey. Things that a health care provider may view as the most important things may not be the most important for someone that is actually living with the diagnosis. So i am hoping that if you have some spare time you may not mind sharing your knowledge with me. Any suggestions wold be greatly appreciated.

Thanks heaps and i wish you all the very best,

OTStudent x

rob
08-23-2008, 10:44 AM
Hello OTStudent,

My name is Rob, I'm a 40 y.o. man from the opposite side of the world, the state of Maine in the US. I was diagnosed with systemic lupus in 2004. I'm now unable to work, and recieve full disability. First off, I'd like to thank you for working to increase the awareness of this disease. For such a prevalent, worldwide illness, there are sadly very few people who know of, let alone understand what Lupus is.