PDA

View Full Version : I am new to lupus and need help

Chris Gawron
08-01-2008, 05:03 PM
I found out in March that I have Lupus and since then it seems I don't want to go out or do anything, I feel sad like a huge part of my life is gone. Is this normal? I feel like I have lost a friend. I also have Fibromyglia and Sjogrens. On advice from my doctor I have stopped eating wheat and gluten which has helped but when I do go out with friends I get very nervous about ordering meals inf ront of people and the 20 questions I may get. Are my feelings of loss normal?

sits_inthe_corner
08-02-2008, 04:24 AM
Hi Chris,

Of course it's normal. Humans grieve loss over everything. It's natural and normal...it's how we adjust and process.

It's the healthy thing to do...just dont forget the acceptance part and the adjusting to new ways of being.

My sister can not have wheat at all...and it is in alot of products you may not think of.

You should contact your local Ceiliac's society. They have several things that can help you. One of them is a grocery shopping guide. It get's updated (I'm not sure how often) so you can avoid foods that contain hidden glutens.

They also can help you locate restaurants in your area that are gluten free or friendly to people with gluten issues.

You WILL become comfortable saying in a restaurant..."do you have a gluten free menu or meals?"

My sister does...and we have found several places that we can go out to eat that are truely wonderful.

Makes her feel normal again at these places. She doesn't have to worry about what she orders. She can have what ever she see's on the menu and there are some delicious choices.

Hope this helps

Oh you can also google gluten free restaurants in your area. That's how I found some of the places we go to.

Saysusie
08-02-2008, 11:11 AM
Hi Chris;