PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

Kimmy
07-23-2008, 08:18 AM
Hi everyone,
I was recently diagnosed with SLE in April after a flare sent me to the hospital. I have the usual suspects in terms of symptoms (rashes, joint pain, swelling, fatigue, etc) but I've also had a lot of neurological symptoms associated with my lupus and am looking for some answers. Has anyone else experience pressure in their arm which causes numbness and tingling? At first I thought it may be a blood clot but it's been two weeks with no change in swelling/heat/color. It feels like I have a blood pressure cuff on my forearm.
Can anyone help?
Thanks! I look forward to meeting you all :)

Oluwa
07-23-2008, 11:32 AM
Hi Kimmy..

Welcoming you with open arms...

I have no experience with this. I would suggest you to make an appointment with a doctor to see what is going on. Two weeks is a long time...

Early detection is key to managing our health...

Especially having Lupus we have to have our symptoms assessed as early as possible.

Someone is sure to pop in that has had/have this. Is it the whole arm? Hands? Certain fingers? Sounds like a nerve problem..could be from CNS involvement, a nerve impediment in the shoulder, neck, upper and middle back.... Carpal Tunnel...heart...ah, a myriad of things...

Don't wait too long before making an appointment...

Keep looking for your wellness...
Oluwa

Kimmy
07-23-2008, 02:07 PM
Thank you, Oluwa!
I did ask the doctor about it last week and she seemed to think it may be due to being weaned off prednisone, but it's been over a month since I've been off. For now, she wants me to keep an eye on it. I was just wondering if anyone else had experienced this before. The pressure is at the elbow and the numbness is from then down to the fingers.
Thank you for your reply.
Be well,
Kimmy

Saysusie
07-23-2008, 02:13 PM
Hi Kimmy;