PDA

View Full Version : I am new to Lupus. Need Advice.

machelleraper
07-22-2008, 11:05 PM
Hey.
I am new to this whole lupus thing. I found out a few weeks ago that I have it. I also have Rhuematoid Arthritis and carpal tunnel sydrome. I don't really know much about all of this stuff. It's a very terrifying thing to get all of this at once. I've been sick for a while, and went to the doctor a few months ago for a different reason, and discovered all of this. If somebody would please give me some advice on this, it would be greatly appriciated.

<3

KathyW1958
07-23-2008, 02:23 AM
Hi Machelle,
Welcome to the forum. My name is Kathy. I have SLE, Lupus and have had it for years. I can certainly understand your fear. We all are very afraid when we first get diagnosed, because there is no cure. They have really good medications now and most people are able to live to a normal life expenctancy. I will be 50 in December and they believe that I have had lupus since the age of 5. Have they put you on any medications for your Lupus. You will learn in time what your limitations are and things like that. As far as the carpal tunnel, I don't know much about that. There will be others that come on here to welcome you that have a wealth of information that will help you a lot. I am pretty new to the site and I think that this site is really great. I hope that you keep posting and reading all the posts.

God Bless,
Kathy

laurid8967
07-23-2008, 07:25 AM
Hey Machelle -
Welcome to the site - it is truly a wonderful place to learn, vent and find compassionate people who really understand.
Are you sick (in a flare) right now? What are your symptoms? Are you on any meds?
Let us know how you are doing and, again, welcome.
Love Lauri

Oluwa
07-23-2008, 11:12 AM
Machelle...

Welcoming you with open arms...

What type of advice are you looking for...general, medicine, care. To start with try here on the forum at Lauri's Lounge Stickys. Here is the link..