PDA

View Full Version : Do you tell other people about it?

Redhead
04-01-2008, 09:10 AM
I was diagnosed about a year and a half ago after several lengthy hospital visits. So a lot of people in my church, etc, know all about my health problems.

But ... I'm so tired of being known as "Sick Girl" that I don't want anyone who has met me in the last year to know a thing about it. For example, I joined a women's Bible Study and do not let on to anyone that there is something wrong with me.

Also, I am a free-lance musician and would never want it to get "out" to the people who hire me, because I'm afraid they would see me as sick/disabled/unreliable and stop calling me.

But ... sometimes I wish people did know. For example, one morning everybody in the Bible Study had signed up to bring food, and I just was feeling bad and couldn't manage it. Sometimes I suspect people think I'm lazy. Or sometimes I just wish people knew I struggle sometimes, with three young children and an illness.

But at the same time, I believe the people who DO know, treat me differently and see me differently. One woman with Lupus told me that she once had someone physically get up and walk away when she mentioned it, as if she was contagious.

What has been your experience? Do you tell most people? How do they react? If you don't tell, why not? Do people treat you "less than human" when they know?

THanks
Jenny

rob
04-01-2008, 09:40 AM
Hi Redhead,