PDA

View Full Version : biopsy test

lyss
02-03-2008, 12:05 PM
:) hi all. i have a questions if you can suggest or give any question i would be highly thankfull,i have undergo a urine test and the results not good,theres blood and protein so y doctor suggest me to undergo kidney biopsy and am very scared after reading how the test is done,i dunno wat to do,any suggestion if the test is painfull,pliz anyone can help me out here?

Faith
02-03-2008, 10:33 PM
Hi Lyss,

I am so sorry about your lab tests. I have no personal experience with this, but I am sure Saysuzie or another member of the forum will respond. Have they done a ultrasound or CT scan?

Please keep us updated and let us know what you find out. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

Take care,

Faith 8)

Here is some info I found on Webmd:

A kidney biopsy is done using a long thin needle put through the back (flank) into the kidney. This is called a percutaneous kidney biopsy. A tissue sample is taken and sent to a lab. It is looked at under a microscope. The sample can help your doctor see how healthy your kidney is and look for any problems.

The two kidneys are found on either side of the spine, in the lower back. They help the body balance water, salts, and minerals in the blood. The kidneys also filter waste products from the blood and make urine.

A kidney biopsy may be done to check for kidney problems. It may also be done after other tests for kidney disease, such as blood and urine tests, ultrasound, or a computed tomography (CT) scan, show a kidney problem. If kidney cancer is suspected, a biopsy may not be done because of the chance of spreading the cancer.

Why It Is Done
A kidney biopsy is done to:

Find kidney disease when there is blood or protein in the urine or when the kidneys are not working well.
Check kidney problems seen on an ultrasound or a CT scan.
Watch kidney disease and see if treatment is working.
See whether a transplanted kidney is working.
How To Prepare