PDA

View Full Version : new, frustrated and have a question about my appointment

supposedlynotsick
01-22-2008, 10:38 PM
I have been reading on the board for a couple of days. I am 36 years old. Like other people here I am very frustrated. I have been sick with something for three years. It started out feeling like a stomach virus and has progressed from there. I was a teacher but had to quit when I got sick. I already have and have had for years endometriosis, migraines, and IBS. During surgery for endometriosis (hoping that might fix the problem), they found a malignant carcinoid tumor on my appendix which is very rare.
Since then I have still been very sick. I have extreme fatigue, a fever and chills several times every single day, cold hands and feet, and nausea when I eat anything with any fat in it. I also have moving joint pain along with the pain in my ribs that is intermittent.
I have read a lot of books on autoimmune diseases as well as books on lupus.
I finally have an appointment with a rheumy a week from today. I do not know anything about her. My question is how do I walk that line between letting her know I know something about my symptoms and taking a chance on her thinking that since I have read so much I am making the symptoms up. Thanks for any help and support you can provide. Julie

sick n tired
01-22-2008, 11:01 PM
Hi supposedlynotsick,

My goodness, you have had a rough go of it. I am so sorry.

So you are one of us who have been told or intimated that it is "all in your head" I understand.