PDA

View Full Version : I'm new here, but not to lupus

amprivate1
07-14-2007, 01:40 PM
:? Hi everyone . . I'm not new to the lupus diagnosis limbo or to the disease itself, but I am having some new symptoms that have me concerned. I was searching for info online and accidentally found this site . . I couldn't believe how similar some of the posts were to my everyday life! What a fabulous site . .

I worked as a Clinical Neuropsychologist for several years . . but I've basically been an artist for the past 9 or so. I had to "retire" due to my constant symptoms and feeling like I was letting down my patients. It's been a problem, not working in my field, b/c my family tends to believe that I COULD do a lot more than I do, I have a great deal of graduate school debt, I'm a single mom to a 10 yr-old daughter, and my feelings seem to remain bruised almost all the time!

I'm also anxious b/c I JUST turned 40 and I sometimes feel much older . . a real bummer.

My lupus (which was first diagnosed, of course, as a number of different illnesses including MCTD), shows up as the following symptoms: fatigue, low-grade constant fever, alopecia, malar rash when I'm tired, costochondriasis, pleurisy, sjogren's syndrome, raynaud's syndrome & joint swelling/pain.

These are the near-constant symptoms. But, lately I've started noticing some new symptoms that are causing me concern and my contact with a rheumatologist is non-existent at present. I saw the same doctor for 7 years, but my insurance finally reached the $1100/month rate and was absolutely unaffordable. I was just wondering if anyone else has similar complaints?