PDA

View Full Version : Yoga

Suzanne960
04-26-2007, 11:02 AM
I've done 2 yoga classes this week, and, boy, do I feel better. :D I haven't been able to say that in a couple of years, at least. I think I have the best concoction of meds I've had, and that's allowing me to do the yoga, which is helping still more. Even if it doesn't last the weekend, this still gives me hope.

Anyone else have good luck with yoga? What do you watch out for?

IloveHistory
04-26-2007, 02:09 PM
Hi Suzanne960!

I do Yoga once a week and have done so for the last four years. I find it tremendously helpful and relaxing! :D It's good for keeping the muscles warm and flexible! :wink:

Keep well! :)

Missy
04-26-2007, 06:20 PM
I've been practicing Kripalu yoga for the last 3 years and I've found it extremely helpful as well. There are lots of different types of yoga and instructors. It sounds like you found one that works great for you!

If you have a knowledgeable yoga instructor, they should have asked you about any health conditions and offer modifications of poses. I'm not aware of all modifications that should be followed, because I'm in a really small class and my teacher knows all of our "issues" and tells us the modifications as we go along. For example, I do know that if you have high blood pressure, you should not do inverted poses.

I'm so glad you've found yoga helpful!

songchick
04-27-2007, 11:06 AM
Yoga is always something I've been interested in trying, but hesitant because of the lupus symptoms.

Any recommendations on tapes or yoga styles for a beginner?

Missy
04-27-2007, 04:49 PM
I definitely recommend Kripalu as a gentle, more meditative style. Iyengar is a traditional style, but classes called "restorative" are generally more gentle and geared towards bodies that need to be restored, if that makes sense. Hatha yoga should be good, too.