PDA

View Full Version : hi, i'm new to this...

carpediem
03-15-2007, 03:25 AM
Hi everyone, my name is Jennie and I'm a 21 year old student in Cheltenham, England. I was diagnosed with Lupus at Christmas and have good days and bad days like you all i guess. However this week has been the worst it has ever been just because of the pain in my legs and chest and my lack of energy. I am normally a very enthusiastic and adventurous person and there are so many plans I have for travelling etc but now I feel like I can't do any of that as I can barely walk to the Uni campus this week. I know that I will feel better again in a few days but it just gets me down sometimes that I can't lead the active life I had anymore. How do you pick yourselves up again? and also do you find that a lot of people don't know what Lupus is and so don't understand what you're going through so you just don't tell anyone?
Thank you for reading this, Jennie :)

mnjodette
03-15-2007, 03:47 PM
Welcome, Jennie. You will have ups and downs, to be sure. Your doctors will help you find the right 'cocktail' of medications to help you manage your disease, but you can take some control yourself. Get lots of rest; avoid stress when you can. You may also need to stay out of the sun - lots of those with lupus are photosensitive. There's no doubt it will be a big adjustment for you. It has been for all of us - at any age. But, you will probably have times that you feel pretty good and are able to do some of those things you used to do. And sometimes lupus can go into remission - a period of time when your symptoms may disappear. It's unpredictable. Please feel free to visit this forum whenever you need someone to give you advice (we have some VERY knowledgeable people here) or just someone to 'listen' and support you. Glad you found us, Jennie.

Jody

IloveHistory
03-16-2007, 11:27 AM
Hi Jennie!

Welcome to the Forum! :D I'm really glad that you found us! :D