PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

Emmas mom
10-23-2006, 11:17 PM
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to this sight, was online browsing around for somewhere to go to talk to people who would understand what I"m going through. I'm 22 years old and I live in southern California, in the desert. I have a 3 year old daughter names=d Emmary Jade, she is what keeps me going most days. I was diagnosed with SLE in February 2001 and right now am being tested for hypothyroidism. My T4 is in the range, but the lower end, they prefer it at the higher end. Hopefully everything gets resolved soon. I'll keep you all posted. Hope to meet you all very soon.

Erin :(

KayCee31614
10-24-2006, 04:20 AM
Hi Erin,
You will like this forum a lot. There are a lot of nice people that are very knowledgeable about Lupus and related illnesses. I have SLE, but I don't have a problem with my Thyroid, so I don't know what to say about your thyroid test. Marycaine will be on shortly and she will know what to tell you. I just want to say that I am glad that you found this forum. Hugs, Kathleen.

MARYCAIN
10-24-2006, 08:29 AM
Our wonderful moderator, saysusie, is also from California desert country so I know she will be really happy to "meet" someone from her area - she's on vacation now but will be back next week.

I know it's really hard to raise children when you have lupus - it can make even simple things like playing outside with your kids a real challenge. If you'be been diagnosed since 2001, you know that lupus can cause inflammation in many parts of the body, including the thyroid gland. Sometimes inflammation of the thyroid damages the cells, so they are unable to produce enough thyroid hormone. This condition is called autoimmune thyroiditis or Hashimoto's thyroiditis. It can occur by itself, or in connection with lupus or other autoimmune diseases. Autoimmune thyroiditis is the most common cause of thyroid gland failure.