PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here long with history---

Jann
10-20-2006, 10:01 AM
HI!!

My name is Jann and I live in southern NJ (outside of Philadelphia).

I was first diagnosed with RA ( well I diagnosed myself and almost failed a class) in 1975. That long. I am a hematologist in my first lifetime and when going though the classes my sed rate (ESR) was always through the roof and my screening and FANA for RA were always positive. The instructors could not understand how I was messing up such simple tests, and finally had the entire class test my blood.. BINGO. RA!!! Finally a reason for some off symptoms I was blaming on the environment (I was in the military). This also brought some earlier symptoms to light from my teen years.

Fast forward:

Then in 1982 my VD screens started coming up positive. and I knew something else was wrong. Seems the RPR, quicky screening, is affected by autoimmune diseases, such as RA etc.

(I then left the lab world- OSHA turned the field around, no more fun) and went into Healthcare Administration.)

My physicians were treating me and telling me to take Aleve type OTC meds for the discomfor, and Celebrex for painful espsodes. I think they also thought I was too young for this sort of complaint

I thought I was becoming lazy without the stamina to do most everyday things, (still hate cleaning though)

FAST FORWARD

In the late 90's I finally took control. I had a few surgeries for scraping osteoarthritis and the surgeon who did my knee scope told me my weight was the problem with repeated complaints, after. I asked him if the RA or OA has anything to do with it. The idiot tells me i do not have RA, he never read my chart ( plus I worked for him part time!). He sent me to a Rheumatologist I fell in love with ( just kidding but you know what I mean)