PDA

View Full Version : Quick hello and a piece of my mind

pegslegs25
10-18-2006, 06:01 AM
Hello everyone. I'm kind of new to this, in fact I barely knew what lupus was before someone I love very much was diagnosed with it. It was very frustrating when we didn't know what was wrong(the searching, testing, and digging has gone on for almost 8 years), the doctors seemed to never believe her and when they did they didn't know what was wrong. After a long hard path a doctor finally took the time and the effort to really figure out what was going on. I'm trying to learn everything I can about lupus so I can help in any way, any information would be greately appreciated. Some of the sites I have found have been really helpful, and some of them have been downright confusing. So far I really like this site, I have a feeling this forum is a really great source of support and stress relief for people dealing with the every day struggles of lupus. :) Thanks all.

Jessica

MARYCAIN
10-18-2006, 07:27 AM
Hi, Jessica - your loved one is very fortunate to have you looking out for her. Sadly, what you describe is very common - many lupus patients may go for years without getting a proper diagnosis, with others are misdiagnosed with psychiatric illnesses or other conditions. Part of the problem is that lupus can look like so many other diseases, and some of the symptoms like fatigue and joint pain are common in many illnesses.

You can get a lot of basic information about lupus from websites such as the Lupus Foundation of America, the Lupus Alliance, the Lupus UK website, and arthritisabout.com. There are links to many of these websites on the homepage of this forum under "resources".

There are also many good books available, you can probably find some of them at yout local public library, and the librarian can get others for you through interlibrary loan.

The Lupus Book: A Guide for Patients and Their Families - revised edition 2005