PDA

View Full Version : Something new i noticed

Morpheus
09-28-2006, 03:30 AM
Hi fellow lupies.
The lupus haikus is a great thread. I think we all should try and contribute to it.
Maybe even pulish it as inspiration. :)

Well back to why i'm posting, As i'm a web developer, i spend 90% of the working day in front of the pc.
I find this drains me and my head starts throbbing, my hands turn red, and i just feel sluggish with a major headache.

I usually remedy this (a bit) with a sweet cooldrink.
however i need to know what this could be.
Is it my blood pressure ?

It has happened on other occasions away from the computer as well.

Please if anyone has experienced this i would like to know.

<desperate and worried/>

beautifulbeluga
09-28-2006, 08:27 AM
Hi Morpheus:

Am no doctor so really don't want to comment on what your symptoms are but I can relay my own personal experience. I find that I too get a headache working on the computer for more than a hour or so. I'm not sure if it is the glare of the screen or what but as all I know is that it happens. I find that if I take a break and walk around and get physical in some way it usually disappears and then I can go back and start over. I'm not sure what your sweet drink is but if you are drinking lots of sugar laden beverages it usually will exacerbate a headache and not resolve the problem. Are you drinking lots of water during the day? Headaches are also often caused by dehydration and I find if my fluid intake isn't up I tend to get light headed and then get a headache.

Because you have such a sedentary job all day it might be wise to make sure you fit in some physical activity every day if you aren't already doing that. Everyone here knows that I am always tooting my horn about the benefits of water therapy/swimming etc. for lupies but that is one thing that really keeps me as well as possible . I find if I am not physical in some way every day I feel terrible and headaches are only one symptom.