PDA

View Full Version : hair dyes and lupus

sara
09-15-2006, 02:16 AM
hi everyone

i wonder if any one here has used permanent hair colours and felt worsening of lupus symptoms ? i am undecided whether to go for permanent dyes or natural colouring agents like henna though i am more keen on the former because of their easy application..I am told that some amount of dye( whether chemical or natural) does go inside the body through the pores in the scalp so i am unsure whether it would affect lupus or not...

any advice would be helpful...

thanks

beautifulbeluga
09-15-2006, 06:22 AM
Hi Sara:

I wanted to reply to your post regarding hair dye and lupus. I had been dying my hair for many years due to premature greying that runs in my family. I was using permanent color in the color of auburn. My joint symptoms, fatigue, and flu like symptoms were greatly increasing. Also I began having more head sores and mouth sores especially around the time I would color my hair. Finally, I began to have breathing problems and chest pain. At first I ignored these symptoms, after all I had been coloring my hair forever but finally after a specially bad attack where I thought my husband would have to take me to the hospital I reluctantly quit going to the hairdresser for coloring.

I do not know if there is a connection between hair color and lupus however for myself I definitely know there is a connection for me. Although It has been difficult to let my grey show through my personal choice for myself was not to take any more chances than I have to. Hair chemicals are very toxic and chemicals tend to build and stay in the body for a long time.

SoleSinger
09-15-2006, 08:07 AM
I have heard people with experiences like BeautifulBeluga's... For me, it doesn't worsen my symptoms... But, I do find that I am more sensitive to the smell when i am applying it. I was a hairdresser for years, so to be sensitive to the smell all of a sudden is weird, but it goes away once it's applied.