PDA

View Full Version : New to site, not to lupus!!! (20 years in)

heather123
08-20-2013, 09:16 PM
My name is Heather. I have had lupus for 20 years now. I was diagnosed at 19 (am currently 39). I am currently a full time elementary teacher from Ontario (Canada). My daughter is now 15 and has low vision because of my disease. She attends the school for the blind in Ontario. I would love to answer questions, ask questions, or chat to listen! Here are some things I have been through...
- diagnosed at 19 with systemic lupus in the kidneys (glomerulonephritis)
- have been living 20 years with stage 3 kidney disease
- diagnosed at 22 with APLS (anti-phospholipid antibody syndrome) and presented with a blood clot in the lung
- had a premature baby when I was 24 (2 pounds 8 oz) and nearly did not make it through the birth-- had to have 5 litres of blood removed from my abdomen 2 days later, had 7 blood transfusions, was in intensive care for 5 days after the C-section and didn't wake up for 4-5 days... didn't even know I had a baby)
- had chemo for 1 1/2 years at age 24
- was in remission for 15 years and am now having my first flare in 15 years
- just started having mini strokes but thought they were painless migraines (from APLS)
- while in remission I have had many strange things... bizarre swelling of one eye only
- began anti-depressants at age 34 which was a life changer for the better
- have been on 28 pills per day at one time
- have Raynaud's,
- have had and do experience joint pain (not all the time)
- have lots of foot pain and strange leg stuff
- currently having leg "humming"
- just started plaquenil
- have been on many scary doses of prednisons
- have been on cozaar, hydrochlorothiazide and Coumadin for lots of years
- taking Cymbalta since I was 34
- just started another 6 week round of prednisone and am now on plaquenil for good
- now having struggles with TIA's from APLS

:)