PDA

View Full Version : New to board

smjohn
07-01-2006, 02:46 PM
Hello, I am a 35 year old, mother of four. I was diagnosed with CNS lupus/brain vasculitis in august/september 2005.

My labs have slowly improved, but I wish I felt as good as my labs look!! I am constantly fatigued, dizzy, achy, migraines, foggy brained. I am 40 lbs overweight due to meds and inactivity. I try to use my treadmill, but most times I am too fatigued. I do fine with my daily activities at home and caring for my kids, but I must rest frequently.

I was an Oncology Registered Nurse up until July 2005. That's when I became ill and was unable to work. I am still unable to work and cannot drive due to dizziness. It stinks. I feel so useless.

I hate my weight gain, I wish I could wean off my Celexa, but when I tried I got awful withdrawal symtoms.

I am on Cellcept 1500 mg a day and 1.25 mg of prednisone a day. I had been on 80 mg of Prednisone a day at the beginning!! So, at least that has decreased.

I also have anticardiolipins, but they have decreased. I am on aspirin for that. I do not have antiphospholipid syndrome.

I just get so discouraged. Will I ever get better? Is this what my life is going to be? My husband and my kids have been great, but I know it is a strain on them as well.

Sorry for the rant! The fatigue is so bad lately, can it be from tapering of the prednisone?

Thanks for listening :)

SoleSinger
07-01-2006, 03:43 PM
Welcome!!

WOW!!! 80mgs of Pred. to 1.25 in less than a year??? That's GREAT!!!

I've only been dx'd a little less than a year, too... And while they say my blood work is stable, I pretty much feel like crap all the time... So, I feel your pain!!!

Where did you start on CellCept? Did you have to go through cytoxan treatments?

I know what you mean about the weight gain! Though, I'm still lower than my heaviest weight; So, I still consider that a personal victory!! LOL!