PDA

View Full Version : Just been diagnosed

Rach
06-27-2006, 09:01 AM
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to this - this whole LUPUS thing so bare w/ me...i was just diagnosed w/ Lupus on June 7... and i feel like CRAP! As we speak, my RIGHT HAND and knees are killing me! Its hard for me to type right now! What to do? i took some tylenol along w/ the Plaque stiff but its not helping! I hate having Lupus! I hardly go out of the house now! I'm on disability... i cant even bring myself to get up in the morning to work out! I just need some advice or ANYTHING! HELP!

atedj
06-27-2006, 06:54 PM
I'm pretty new to Lupus, too. But what I've learned is that I had to give up on the idea of exercising right now (during a flare). It just made me feel guilty when I couldn't do it. I mean, how can you expect yourself to do anything, even walk very far, when you can hardly go about in daily life? Worry about getting back into shape once the meds kick in and you start feeling better. Has your rheumy mentioned trying Steroids? They aren't good to stay on for really long periods of time I've learned, but they sure do help when things are really bad. I was put on Prednisone and am tapering off of it now. It amazed me how fast it took away the pain and inflamation: within hours of taking the first dose! It was a life saver for me. Make sure you educate yourself about this disease. It made it alot less scary for me when I knew what kinds of things to avoid and such. This site really helps alot because you learn about all the little day to day things that matter but no one ever really talks about in a Lupus article. Anyway, I hope this helps a little. Good luck and know that we all understand EXACTLY how you feel, both physically AND emotionally!

SoleSinger
06-27-2006, 08:30 PM