PDA

View Full Version : Happy to be here

Sammy
04-09-2013, 07:30 PM
Hello,

Well after becoming a new member yesterday i was pleased to be able to relate some of my symptoms with other members. As i don't know anyone else with Lupus i have found managing on my own like travelling a maze in the dark. I should introduce myself properly. My name is Sam .. im 40 years old and live in Melbourne Australia. I was diagnosed with SLE 3 years ago. I am a Nurse currently working in a large public hospital. This has certainly worked to my advantage as i was able to see and be tested by some very good and knowledgable Doctors quickly.
I have a strong family history of AI disease on my mothers side, but certainly never expected nor even gave much thought to the idea that i would be where i am today. I was dianosed with Fibro about 20 years ago but never really new what it meant, only that my muscles hurt and i fatigued easily. Then suddenly at 37 two children later i started feeling terrible. I couldn't use my hands my joints were screaming at me, i couldn't walk up or down stairs and i could barely drive home at 4 oclock in the afternoon without wanting to pull over to have a sleep. I was burning up all the time, night sweats, tingling in my legs and feet, blisters in my mouth, lesions on my scalp, head aches, sore eyes, chest pain and extreme fatigue. My ANA readings went from 40 to 80 to 640+ within 4 weeks.
Anyway i am now on Meds. I was on Plaqeunil for awile but it gave me such tummy troubles that i stopped and now rely on Methotrexate 20mg. I have been up to 25mg but it has started to play havic with my liver. I would love to know if there is any other medication that people have tried. I do take NSAID's as required but am trying to stay away from Pred as much as i can. I am currently having a flare at the moment which as you all know can be very painful and frustrating.