PDA

View Full Version : Upset worried allergy to plaquinil?

Kjell
02-14-2013, 08:33 PM
I've been on plaquinil for 7 weeks now, and I've been holding on to the hope that as soon as it kicks in I'll get my life back to normal. I've got lupus rashes along with the fatigue and pain.. I was put on a steroid cream to help with the rash as well. My thoughts at first were, great on track should be better 4-6 weeks. Now this week I'm itching like crazy with hives everywhere. My arm and leg pain are worse than before as we'll. I'm scared at my dr appointment tomorrow they are going to take the plaquinil away and Ill have to start all over with a new scary, bunch of crazy side effects, wait and see what happens, drug.. ugh! i just want to cry.. As a matter of fact I did cry. Has anyone had this happen to them? What medication is my next step? Thanks for any help

debbie-b
02-15-2013, 12:12 PM
I am not an expert, but I would think, if you were allergic, it wouldn't have taken 7 weeks, to show.
Did you go to dr. today? Hopefully you can stay on the Plaquenil.

Debbie

jmail
02-15-2013, 03:10 PM
Ditto what debbie-b said about any type of reaction would have happened sooner, rather than later. For me, I've had a lot of trouble with skin issues all along, with light sensitivity seemingly getting almost unmanageable at times. Flourescent lighting seems to be a real problem for me. I have to use sunscreen, and at that, only certain ones, since I'm "sensitive" to most. When I "flare", my skin always shows it. and a different each time, it seems, too...

Kjell
02-15-2013, 06:08 PM