PDA

View Full Version : New member, diagnosed ten years ago!

soy
02-12-2013, 07:39 AM
Hello! I'm Natalie and I was diagnosed with SLE when I was sixteen. Today I'm twenty-six, and over the last ten years I have also been diagnosed with secondary Sjögren's, fibromyalgia, and Raynaud's. Every day I wake up feeling like I have just been diagnosed. Every day comes with new fears and new joys.

Fears: I am looking for support and advice about employment. I have held a full-time job since I graduated with my master's degree in 2010, but recently I have been struggling with it. My employer is not supportive of my situation and does not like when I take multiple days off. I feel judged and guilty for taking time off of work to take care of myself.

Joys: I have been practicing yoga for a few years. I have recently decided to become a yoga instructor. I would love to be able to teach full-time, to follow my passion, to dedicate my life to natural healing, meditation, and helping others, but I am absolutely terrified about losing my health benefits. Now that I am twenty-six I can no longer be covered under my parent's health insurance, and I am sure premium for paying for it myself would be sky high.

I have an amazing social support system. My friends, family, boyfriend are some of the most patient and caring people I've ever met. I love them dearly and they want me to do what will make me happy, but I have to be realistic. I cannot afford to lose my health benefits, even if my job is physically and emotionally taxing.

Is anyone else struggling these kind of major life decisions? I feel like I am at an impasse with myself.

I would love to hear how other people have overcome these kind of obstacles and have found happiness in their life's work.

Namaste~
Natalie

steve.b
02-13-2013, 11:09 PM
hi natalie and welcome.

many of us have multiple overlapping disorders.
so you are not alone with this.

i am 51 and have been retired for about 3 years due to this desease.