PDA

View Full Version : Lupus & Depression

SNR
02-07-2013, 04:12 PM
Hi all - I am new to WHL. I have had SLE for almost 3years. I have a great support team (family & friends) however I have had some struggles with depression. Today I had to come home early from work because I just couldn't get my self out my funk. At times I feel very judged by others for leaving early or for feeling "down". I just needed to find a place where someone else understood what I am going thru.

Thanks for letting me vent.
SNR

jmail
02-07-2013, 09:14 PM
I used to be able to "tell the weather" with my AI stuff, but I've gone *way* beyond that. I'll get a funk that's just a bit of "brain fog", all the way to a full-body flare-up assault where it feels like the spine is going to explode out of my back, the brain out of my skull, etc., for every body part that there is. I've gotten used to it over the years, but I still do take - dad blame it, what's the name of it... sertraline! pWhew! Thought I was going to have to get up, go to the med cab, and try to read the label... Talk with your doc about it, and see about doing something low-dose. Adjust it if needed. It also helps with my sleep, and I don't "blow-up" as often at work and try to rip someone a new face for being their usual incompetent self... I detest new bosses, ya know? lol - better to leave early than to do that.

steve.b
02-08-2013, 01:00 AM
there are lots of threads here about depression.......
it is a common side effect.

you are not alone with this feeling.

also some of us need this medication to help our brains work properly.
the brain fog can sometimes be helped by this type of medication.

there is nothing to feel ashamed about.....
you have an uncurable desease that is effecting your everyday activities.

please see your doctor and talk about this.
some of us find a solution easily....
others need to change the type of medication.... to one that works well with us.