PDA

View Full Version : Neurontin, anyone?

magistramarla
10-14-2012, 02:06 PM
As I mentioned in another thread, the neurologist at UCSF is still pursuing the possibility that my leg muscles are spastic because of Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia. Since I had bad luck with Baclofen, he prescribed Neurontin to try to help my leg spasms and numb toes.
I've never tried Neurontin before. Has anyone else taken it?
I would love to hear about any experiences, good or bad. I'm always really sensitive to drugs, so I like to know a lot about them before I try them.
Hugs,
Marla

Derrie
10-14-2012, 02:17 PM
I've taken Neurontin (the generic is gabapentin). They start you at a small dose, then work you up to a higher dose. It was an attempt by my neurologist to control what they thought was nerve pain in my legs and then tingling feeling I have in my hands and feet. It made me feel a little drunk at first, but then I got more used to it, and it wasn't that big of a deal. Unfortunately, it didn't do anything for my pain or tingling, so I stopped taking it.

One important thing to remember with Neurontin is if you're on it and want to stop, you should notify your doctor so she can wean you slowly. If you stop it suddenly, it can cause a seizure.

I think it might be worth a try for you-- just start with a small dose, and see how it affects you.

Mica
10-14-2012, 03:45 PM
I have been taking it since like march, I really like it. It works well for that muscle spasm pain, from what I understand about the drug that it is normally used for nerve damage people. I don't feel any side affects, but I have that drunk feeling all the time lol. Meds work differently for everyone, so I hope it works well for you as it does for me.
P.S I got on neurotin because of my muscle spasms and my veins in my legs were spasming(don't think thats the right word) too.

gkf109
10-14-2012, 04:24 PM
I was given neurotin after back surgery for nerve damage, and it didn't work for me

jmail
10-15-2012, 07:38 AM