PDA

View Full Version : bit confused about meds

indigo
09-06-2012, 05:59 AM
Hey everyone,

Sometimes I just get so confused trying to work out what's wrong with me and how to deal with it!! I've been diagnosed with lupus for which I take plaquenil, epilepsy for which I take lamictal and gastroparesis for which I take motilium. I was sick for ages before I got these conditions diagnosed because I didn't know how to communicate my problems to the doctors. I'm so much better than I was before but I still don't know whether I am as good as I can be. I mean I don't know whether any more medication could make me better...

Sometimes I read people's posts and I can see that we all have our bad days so I don't know whether to accept my bad days as something that I have to live with - that medication cannot fix everything. Sometimes I hear about people with lupus who can work fulltime and I think why can't I be like them (I'm studying almost fulltime by distance education but I can only manage it because I can work around my bad days but if I had to go somewhere to study or work I wouldn't be up to it). But it also seems that many people take more medication than I do so I wonder if I took more meds maybe I could do more...

Part of my problem with communicating my problems to the doctors is that I have no idea what 'normal' is. My doctor said I'd probably never know!!! One thing is I'm not inclined to complain about anything now because compared to how I was this state of being is nothing to complain about, but it obviously still isn't 'normal' because otherwise I'd be able to live a more 'normal' life.