PDA

View Full Version : Sad Day

Danica01
08-09-2012, 01:09 PM
I have been treated for Lupus for so many years. Plaquenil made me very rashy so we decided we would do the methotrexate. I have been doing the injections for the pasat five years. Recently I have developed a huge issue with infections and since last September I have been on anti-biotics every day except maybe a month thrown here and there. We decided to go into Mayo to see if we can find anything that would indicate while my body is just not doing very well.

So, after the first round of blood work they said all my labs looked great and I am wondering if this means that the Lupus is in remission??? If so then why do my joints still swell in my hands and why is my body unable to fight off simple infections? I am still in a lot of pain and just feel yucky! The tests that cam back high were the P-ANCA, high platelet count, SED rate is at the higher end of normal at 29. They have also found indicators of Valley Fever. After two visits to Mayo, lots of blood and urine testing and chest x-rays I am moving on to the pulmonologist and ENT. I will see the rheumatologist one more time before she refers me out because Mayo is a diagnostic center. I am taking .7 cc of methotrexate every Thursday. We are going to start lowering it down to .5 cc. The last time I did this I got so sick so I am nervous about lowering it.