PDA

View Full Version : So frustrated!

ritzbit2
07-11-2012, 03:16 PM
As of July 1st I switched from Humana to United Health for my insurance. So far they have not covered an antibiotic I tried to get and now won't cover the birth control I have been paying only $10 for, for the last three years through Humana. They want $60! Are you kidding me? Maybe thats not a big deal for people who aren't already spending more than that on pills every month. I'm so afraid that they aren't going to cover my important pills when I need to get them refilled next like my cellcept. What am I supposed to do? I am not paying that but can't not be on my birth control. I need it by this Sunday and am going out of town. I know my doctor won't give me a new script and my gyno said I would have to find someone else to give me birth control because she won't because I have lupus. How am I supposed to magically find a doctor who will get me in, and write me a new script in the next two days??

jmail
07-11-2012, 05:15 PM
Check and see how much of what you have for meds is on the $4 list at Wal-Mart (or is it Sam's Club?), and see if you can get any over to that. My insurance is through United Healthcare, but it's a corporate group insurance, so we get it relatively cheaply, though it just went up big time for our share, and for our copays, though still a bargain for a lupie. Our meds go through Medco, and some of my meds through them are *way* high, but others are great. I cannot do the $4 list though, without losing my other meds (rules), and have to pay my $30 copay for 90 days on most of those. The way a doctor writes the script can affect the cost sometimes too. 'Course, you're up against a "deadline" trying to get stuff by this weekend. I don't understand the issue with a gyno giving a lupie a script for birth control. You can get some of 'em free at our neighborhood high schools...

ritzbit2
07-11-2012, 05:31 PM