PDA

View Full Version : Hello!

Samantha.mc
06-12-2012, 06:10 PM
Hey all! I'm new to the site! I'm 23 years old, from Canada, and I was diagnosed with Lupus at 21. I have become such a hermit since becoming sick and I really need to put myself out there again somehow, so here I am!

I don't know about anyone else but I am a terrible patient. I blame the prednisone all of the time for my terrible memory! (I take prednisone, imuran, and plaquenil - two of those I don't think work at all). I am lazy when it comes to taking pills - I pay if I don't, forget everything, and I strongly dislike bloodwork... not the act itself but paying the parking meter everytime I go to the clinic. I think a chronic diagnosis should go hand in hand with a permanent hospital parking permit....

I haven't adjusted to my new way of life and I don't know that I'm willing to. Instead I just get angry when my body refuses to let me keep going. I work a full time job in sales, I'm a University student, I get my butt to the gym whenever I've got the time or the motivation to leave my house (as stiff as I am because of arthritis - yoga is quite a sight!!). I don't know how to stop going full speed all of the time because that's my mentality. Some people say that my body will stop me eventually, but it won't/it hasn't/it doesn't. Even when I can't walk, I still manage. The problem is that I can be as productive as I want, but socially I'm a mess. It makes me nervous to let people in and let them know what I'm actually feeling because most people don't actually care. It's pretty sad when people slowly fade from your life because they don't want to know that you are in pain. But, we've all got problems right?

Lol enough of my ranting..... Hi! Nice to meet you all, I look forward to reading the forums!

magistramarla
06-12-2012, 08:53 PM
Hi Samantha,
Welcome to WHL. You will find lots of people here who understand and are very supportive.