PDA

View Full Version : Not diagnosed yet

Elisa
05-09-2006, 03:24 PM
Well, here goes nothing. Hi, my symptoms have been steadily getting worse over about the last 12-16 months to the point that I cannot do my job- I'm a retail manager. Last month I went to a new doctor because my primary physician of many years retired. I'd been putting off going because of the doctor search. Because of my symptoms, she ordered an ANA test. It came back positive with a high titer count of <1:640 and it also showed an homogenous pattern. They repeated the test 3 weeks later to make sure it wasn't a false positive and it came back exactly the same. Today, I saw the rheumatologist that I was referred to and he did not seem too impressed with the test results or my symptoms.
I've been thinking that I could handle all of this on my own, but now, seeing his indifference, I can see a long, long rocky road ahead. I'm scared because, even though I can't do my job, the physicians say that I'm not disabled. He did order some more specific ANAs but he made sure to say that he's confident they are going to come back negative.
I asked what, then, did he make of my debilitating symptoms? He said that most of them could probably be caused by not getting quality sleep. I do have trouble sleeping, but I know it's not causing: muscle "buzzing" is the only way I can describe it. I've seen some people say "tingling" and that's close but it's a more "high frequency" feeling. I hope that makes sense. Here's my other symptoms; extreme fatigue, muscle aching all over, short of breath, muscle weakness, loss of strength, especially upper body and my back, loss of coordination- jerky feeling movements, hand tremors, joint aches, bladder urgency, muscle tics and cramps, etc...

If somebody could just tell me I'm not crazy and that I'm going to find somebody to help me, I think it would help me feel better.

silverlioness
05-09-2006, 10:36 PM
You are not crazy. You will find someone to help you. :)