PDA

View Full Version : Telling your employer and a big rant...

BrzlianBanana25
04-25-2006, 07:06 PM
It's been a little over a year now that I've been diagnosed with lupus, although I suspect that I have been flaring for at least two or three years. For years I went to the doctor with complaints of alopecia, joint pain, extreme exhaustion, headaches, troubles with my memory when I USED TO HAVE photgraphic memory. For all those years, all the doctors said I needed to manage my stress or take a vacation. Finally my body really freaked out and I had a huge arthritis flair. I was finally diagnosed with SLE... I've done pretty well, but I'm not in remission. I'd like to be, but as close as I may get something always shows up. In December I had a flare again, I'm coming down from it but I'm feeling exhausted again. I'm also showing symptoms of Sjogren's... Yay... more to worry about....

Here are things that make my situation worse:
- I no longer have health insurance because I'm not a student anymore
- I graduated college and am having a really hard time finding that job
- I feel really crapy, so my mood's been really crappy
- I'm having a hard time getting off of prednisone
- The only person I really talk to about how it feels to have lupus is my boyfriend (since we live together, he sees it first hand), and he has recently complained that he feels I'm looking for pity. (I swear I'm not, but I have no one else to share this all with, besides, if I can't describe how I feel to the man I love, who can I tell it to?)
- I'm beginning to get really depressed

I know that my situation could be so much worse, and that healthwise, I'm not that bad (at all). But I'm suffering here, I don't know what to do. I don't have anyone to talk to.

Can anyone offer me any advice at all? Please?

Also, as I'm job hunting I'm wondering whether I should tell my future employer about having lupus... Any ideas?

silverlioness
04-25-2006, 10:56 PM