PDA

View Full Version : Decision time is getting closer.

debbie-b
12-14-2011, 05:31 AM
It looks like I am getting worse.
I have been working at my job for 6 years now. We get 3 paid personal days and 3 paid sick days.
The first 4 years I didn't use any of my sick days and was able to roll them over to the next year.
Two years ago, I used 3 of the 6 accumelated days. This year I have used all 6, plus all 3 of the personal days, on top of my 3 weeks vacation. I don't really call in sick, per say, I find somebody to take over my scheduled day and use a sick or personal day.
I have been "out" of sick days for three months now. My anniversary date is Jan.5 and I start back with 3 sick days and 3 personal days.
The thing is, I could really use them now.
Monday, I had to be at work at 5 am, unload 10 pallets( ca. 1000 cases, most of them weigh about 20-30 pounds) onto the shelves and from 9 am to 1 pm, I had to run the register. We sit at the register, but it is very hard work as well, because we have to scan 48 items a minute and it also requires heavy lifting.
Anyway, on monday I was in alot of pain ( even before I started working), plus I felt sick and very weak.
I actually cried, while I was unloading those pallets, the store is closed, when we fill the shelves.
I am so burned out, I feel like I can't go on.
Lately I get waves of weakness, where my arms and legs get very weak, I can barely lift my arms and my legs can barely carry me. It lasts about 30 minutes and than it goes away.
Right now, I am without meds, because of my liver. But even with the meds, I had to use my sick days.
I think that means, that I am at the end of my working days.
I have been trying to find a job in an office, but so far, no luck.
It won't be easy to get a new job, I am almost 56 and unfortunately, younger people have a better chance.