PDA

View Full Version : lupus survivor

sunnykay82
11-30-2011, 08:50 PM
Hi all, my name is Kerry-ann and this is my first time on this site. I was diagnosed with Lupus in March of 2007 after developing pericarditis and almost losing my life. I actually had symptoms of the disease for many years prior to my diagnosis but that's a whole other story. Wow i just realized it's been almost 5 years since my diagnosis; a diagnosis that changed my life forever! Anyway living with Lupus has been an ongoing battle. On one hand I feel so lucky and blessed that I have not had any major health crises sinces 2007 but I attribute that to my following up with my Rhuemy every 3 months religiously since 2007. But on the other hand its frustrating because I constantly have flares despite being on prednisone, plaquenil and Imuran. I finally got off the prednison in June of this year only to get back on 1 month later. Now I'm off again but those familiar feelings are coming back. The fatigue, holy crap!, pains all over, poor sleep, symptoms that come and go randomly that make my feel like a hypochondriac and still developing new symptoms each time! I'm now just on Cellcept. I don't think its enough but I'm willing to give it a try. I'm as fat as a cow after 4 years on prednisone but what are you gonna do. As much as I hate the stuff, prednisone really works for me. Well enough for now. I look forward to more post and being able to share in your stories.

kim,l
11-30-2011, 11:18 PM