PDA

View Full Version : New here...

ShnnUVA
11-26-2011, 07:32 PM
Hi everyone! I am new to this website and so happy to have found it! I was diagnosed with lupus almost a year ago (wow!) after the birth of my son. He was diagnosed with neonatal lupus at 3 months of age- I wouldn't have understood my symptoms if it hadn't been for an amazing group of practitioners who diagnosed him. His lupus was only cutaneous (thankfully!!), and he shouldn't have any long term problems. I am a nurse who works 12 hour shifts, so sometimes I find it difficult to keep up with life the way that I use to. I'm really looking forward to having all of you as a resource and sounding board, especially on the days when it seems as if no one understands. So far I have experienced what I would consider mild symptoms in comparison to some of you, I thank my lucky stars for that every day. I generally have joint pain and overwhelming fatigue at times, but for the most part I'm learning how to navigate my new "normal". Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself and say, "Nice to meet you"!

SleepyInSeattle
11-26-2011, 08:12 PM
Wow - 3 months - that's rough!!!! But I'm glad to hear the prognosis is good for your boy, and that your symptoms are on the mild end. Heck - with a new baby, I think it's hard NOT to feel pretty cruddy - but Lupus on top of it is doubly draining!!!!

I am also on the mild end of the spectrum so far (and hope it stays that way)...other than occasional flares...and I'm new to this group (Dx'd a couple of months ago). I really appreciate the kindness here and the encouragement and humor, as well as having a place to vent.

Gizmo
11-26-2011, 08:14 PM