PDA

View Full Version : So what Can I do?

capncrunch
11-12-2011, 11:50 AM
I am trying to find a job, but it is very hard because i had flare ups during college so my gpa isn't very good. I don't know what to do...

Nonna
11-12-2011, 12:20 PM
it all depends on your GPA, if you averaged Cs, you're still in good shape. But what you are really up against is experience. There are so many out there looking for jobs, I don't know the unemoyment percentage in your area. But in this economy I don't think that GPAs are that important. All you can do is keep sending the resumes. Find any kind of a job you can. My degree is in French; I do accounting.

Just keep on trying, that's all anyone can do

magistramarla
11-12-2011, 12:44 PM
I think Nonna is right. I heard a lot about this on CNN last week. The "money experts" there suggested that you should accept an unpaid internship to get your foot in the door. They also suggested doing volunteer work - such as doing the accounting for a non-profit group if you are an accountant. This can get you that experience to add to your resume and you just might do some networking there that could lead to your big break.
Nonna is right about being flexible, too. My degree is in Latin and Ancient Greek. Since we moved around so much for Jeff's career, I didn't teach for a long time. I ran a daycare in my home in Mo.: worked as a midwife's assistant in Ok; sang with a semi-professional group in Oh; and then was a substitute teacher in Texas. That led to me being asked to start a Latin program in a brand new high school, so I finally got to have my teaching carreer (until my AI issues cut it short).
Think out of the box, follow your passions, and Bona Fortuna!
Hugs,
Marla

capncrunch
11-12-2011, 09:26 PM
Thanks, My major is in mathematics and now of days C average is bad. With the current state of economics you need at least a B in order to get a good job.

steve.b
11-13-2011, 05:22 AM
the idea is to think outside the square.