PDA

View Full Version : Question for our cat lovers here.

debbie-b
11-10-2011, 07:05 AM
I have two cats, one long haired cat that always looses alot of fur this time of the year. My other cat is short haired, we have had her for almost four years now, she has never shed any of her fur, but now she is loosing hair on her back ( a long narrow stripe) and on both sides, the size of a childs hand. She acts the same as always, she eats like a pig( always has), she plays and is up to no good, all day long. She will get rolled up socks out of the drawer ( if not fully closed), carries the socks to her waterbowl and puts them in the water. She is alot of fun, very loving and always wants attention and "talks" all day long.
Do I have to worry about her loosing her fur? The spots where she has lost some hair, are not bald, it is still hairy. Do any of your short hair cats loose their fur?

Debbie

tgal
11-10-2011, 07:59 AM
Wish I could help but I am new to the "cat" crew. I have always been a dog person and I am on my first year of having a cat too. Let me know!

Hunniebun
11-10-2011, 11:53 AM
If there are empty patches that is too much fur being lost. Make sure your cats do not have fleas or any other sort of bug such as mange. If you have the money you should take your cat to the vet to be looked at. If it's not balding then that's a good thing. Does your other cat play rough and rip fur off your second cat? Does it over groom or rub against things?

Angel Oliver
11-10-2011, 04:39 PM
If im not mistaken ,it happens to Oliver,its a reaction to a flea bite.Your cat sounds like hes been bitten and thats the reaction fur loss.You'll need to take him/her for a check up to be sure.Last summer oliver had a stripe right down his back of bald pink skin.Turns out hes allergic to the actual flea bite.Can be serious if it is,so send him/her for a check up.(could be exma or few other things)