PDA

View Full Version : Changing doctors because of insurance

mamagina
04-11-2006, 09:49 PM
Hope you don't mind but I just found this site and it looks like from what I've read so far that it is a good place to vent. No one else around me understands. I have Lupus and I am having to change my Rheumatologist because of new insurance. I am 42 and was diagnosed when I was 17. This is the second time I have had to go through this. I know you all probably understand, once you find a good doctor and have been with them for awhile, it is devistating to change. I have been going to the same one now for years and she knows me so well. I hate it. I have had some terrible experiences before when I was looking for a new one. You have to go over all your history and hope they don't look at you like your crazy. I have literally made myself sick over this. Does anyone have any advice on how to make this any easier?

Saysusie
04-12-2006, 07:56 AM
Hi Mamagina;
I've just recently changed doctors for the third time. My first doctor was the one who recognized my symptoms and diagnosed me. My second doctor was my rheumatologist for 8 years. BUT, during the last 3-4 years, he would not remember me when I showed up for my appointments, he would not remember the conversations we had and it was like starting all over with a new doctor each time that I saw him. However, when he did remember, he took good care of me, at least that's what I thought!